Stress

Been away for what feels like months, but really it has only been a few weeks. I can’t begin to explain why I haven’t posted because it isn’t because I haven’t been writing. I have a few drafts, I just got too distracted to finish. Also the conviction of why i always write about things that are anything but nonchalant or joyous. I am very good at causing distractions for myself in order to find refuge from the thoughts floating around in my brain. A lot of things have been going on in my life ever since the semester finished a few weeks ago. Trying to get a new job, trying to figure out summer plans with friends, and trying to save up some money so that I am ready for school when the time comes again. Summer time is the one that everybody feels “flies by.” It’s really the busiest time of the year for me and also the worst time, financially speaking. Trying to go on a weeks vacation with friends while saving up for textbooks, maybe taking up a summer class that I have to pay for, and working all at the same time makes life really overwhelming. At times I look at other people and see just how much stuff they jam into their everyday lives and wonder how they survive. Do we have to have such great standards of living? 6 cars, big house, all for what? One day your kids will leave and marry and most of that house won’t be of any use. Who needs a different car for everyday of the week anyways? I hope that when its time to settle down that I’ll choose to lead a simple life. Why should we chase the “American Dream”? Why not chase your own dream? Why should I lead a life so overwhelmed that I end up with high blood pressure/diabetes/heart disease all in the name of success? Will all that success be worth it? Once you spend half your life being stressed out, is there a way to stop? All these questions run through my mind and every day as things pile on to my tray of responsibilities, I have to remind myself to take a breather because stress is similar to playground slides, once you start going down, there’s no stopping.

One thought on “Stress

Leave a Reply

